Who to Ride, Eat, and Stay With

From campgrounds to hotels, bike rentals to guided tours, restaurants to grab n’ go’s, there are a variety of options along the Kettle Valley Rail Trail. Here are some suggestions for where to ride, eat, and stay.

Ride Operators

Name Email Phone City
Ambrosia Tours Ltd. info@ambrosiatours.ca  250-492-1095 Penticton
Authentically Okanagan  info@aoktours.com  250-486-6616 Penticton
Breathe Bikes 250-936-9702 Merritt
 Chain Reaction Ride and Slide  info@rideandslide.ca  250-442-0118 Grand Forks
 Double O Bikes  doubleobikes@telus.net  250-495-3312  Oliver
 Freewheeling Adventures  Nova Scotia
 Giro Okanagan Cycling Vacations  info@girookanagan.com  778-484-7100  Penticton
 Great Explorations  Vancouver
Heatstroke Cycle and Sport Ltd. info@heatstrokecycle.com 778-437-2453 Osoyoos
Hoodoo Adventure Company team@hoodooadventures.ca 250-492-3888 Penticton
KVR Cycling Tours info@kvrcyclingtours.com 250-862-2469 Kelowna
KVR Outfitters  info@kettlevalleyrailtrail.com 250-498-9194 Penticton
Monashee Adventure Tours info@monasheeadventuretours.com 250-762-9253 Kelowna
Myra Canyon Bicycle Rental and Tours info@myracanyonrental.com Kelowna
Myra Canyon Ranch info@myracanyon.com 250-764-9731 Kelowna
Naramata Taxi Co. naramatataxi@hotmail.com 250-487-2928 Naramata
Noble Adventures  byron@nobleadventures.com 250-253-8379 Salmon Arm
Ogopogo Valley Tours Inc.  booknow@OgopogoValleyTours.com  250-490-6665 Summerland
Okanagan Adventures info@okanaganoutdooradventures.com 778-699-2044 West Kelowna
Okanagan Trestles Tour glenn_bond@me.com 250-309-2611 Kelowna, Penticton
Penticton Bike Rentals 250-462-1151 Penticton
Red Barn Ranch Bed and Breakfast and Trail Rides redbarnranchbb@shaw.ca 250-494-8198 Summerland
Summerland Waterfront Resort Rentals Summerland
Sun n’ Sup sunnsup@gmail.com 778-514-5594 Naramata
The Bike Barn  info@bikebarn.ca 250-492-4140 Penticton
West Canada Bike Tours 250-890-0413 Comox
Wildways Adventure Sports and Tours  josh@wildways.com  250-447-6561 Christina Lake

Where to Eat

Name Email Phone City
Babalooz babalooztapas@gmail.com 250-447-6518 Christina Lake
Beaverdell General Store 250-484-5562 Beaverdell
Bellevue Cafe 250-492-6675 Penticton
Bent Grass Grill 250-447-9313 Christina Lake
Billy’s Family Restaurant 250-295-3939 Princeton
Brown Bridge Pub 250-295-1281 Princeton
Christina Lake Grill 250-447-6122 Christina Lake
Clyde’s Pub steve@clydes-pub.com 250-442-3913 Grand Forks
Copper Eagle Cappuccino and Bakery 250-445-6121 Greenwood
Copper Mountain Bar and Grill 250-295-7628 Princeton
Cowboy Coffee brbrosof@telus.net 250-295-3431 Princeton
Deadwood Junction dwjunction@gmail.com 250-445-2255 Greenwood
Dirty Laundry Vineyard Ltd. 250-494-8815 Summerland
Duelling Oaks Restaurant 250-447-9755 Christina Lake
From the Hearth Bakery 250-447-6195 Christina Lake
Gold Pan Cafe 250-446-2324 Rock Creek
Grand Pub and Grill  ban.dana@shaw.ca 250-378-9819 Merritt
Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro  info@hillsideestate.com 250-493-6274 Penticton
Hooded Merganser 250-493-8221 Penticton
Joga’s Espresso Cafe contact@jogas.ca 250-442-5558 Grand Forks
Lakeside General Store lakesidetempo@shaw.ca 250-447-6222 Christina Lake
Lisa’s Bistro anorthernholiday@gmail.com Christina Lake
Little Creek Grill littlecreekgrill@shaw.ca 250-295-6644 Princeton
Mabel’s Old Fashioned Ice Cream Parlor 250-445-9991 Greenwood
Mama Woo Home Cooking Restaurant 250-484-9097 Beaverdell
Mile Zero Restaurant  zeromile@shaw.ca 250-449-2828 Midway
Naramata Pub and Grill info@naramatapub.ca 778-514-0040 Naramata
Portly Penguin Pizza portlypenguinz@yahoo.com 250-447-9090 Christina Lake
Princeton Country Kitchen Princeton
Red Rock Garage  lisa@redrockgarage.ca  250-870-3374  Beaverdell
Rock Creek General Store  rcstore@telus.net 250-446-2722 Rock Creek
Rock Creek Hotel, Restaurant and Lounge bonnie_koester@hotmail.com 250-446-2474 Rock Creek
Rock Creek Trading Post rockcreekcoffee@outlook.com 250-449-8333 Rock Creek
Sweet Life Candy Shop sweetlifecandyshop@hotmail.com 250-445-6416 Greenwood
The Bench Market 250-492-2222 Penticton
The Borscht Bowl borscht@shaw.ca 250-442-5977 Grand Forks
The Mineshaft Restaurant ctmech02@hotmail.com 250-445-2298 Greenwood
The Packing House Cafe 250-458-2256 Spences Bridge
The Prospector Pub – Rock Creek Hotel  bonnie_koester@hotmail.com 250-446-2000 Rock Creek
Thomasina’s  thecommongood@gmail.com 250-295-3810 Princeton
Tulameen Trading Post 250-295-6478 Tulameen
Upper Bench Estate Winery info@upperbench.ca 250-770-1733 Penticton
Vanilla Pod Restaurant vanillapod@shaw.ca  250-493-9463 North Penticton
Vermilion Fork info@vermilionfork.com 250-295-7711 Princeton

Where to Stay

Camping

Name Email Phone City
Arlington Lakes Campground Beaverdell
Beaverdell RV Park and Campground info@beaverdellrvpark.com 877-399-4341 Beaverdell
Boundary Creek Provincial Park info@explorebcparks.ca Greenwood
Boundary Falls Ranch and Campsite 250-445-6578 Greenwood
Bymans Bend, RV and Tenting Bymansbend@hotmail.com 250-446-2651 Rock Creek
Chain Lake West Recreation Site Bankier
Gladstone Provincial Park Christina Lake
Grand Forks Municipal Campground  gftourism@g2gf.ca  250-442-5835 Grand Forks
Granite Creek Recreation Site Coalmont
Hydraulic Lake Campground Mcculloch
Kettle River Provincial Park Rock Crrek
Kettle River Recreation Area (Provincial Campground) info@explorebcparks.ca Rock Creek
Kettle River RV Park krrv@uniserve.com 250-446-2225 Rock Creek
Link Lake Recreational Site Bankier
On The Water Campground  db150@hotmail.com  250-446-2706 Rock Creek
Osprey Lake North Recreation Site Bankier
Otter Lake Provincial Park Tulameen
Peach Orchard Campground  peachorchardcamp@outlook.com  250-494-9649 Peachland
Rock Creek Riverside Campground  info@rockcreekriversidecampground.com  250-869-7515 Rock Creek
Summerland Campground and RV Park  info@summerlandcampground.com  778-328-7434 Summerland
Zack’s Creekside Tenting  zack2852@hotmail.com  250-484-5532 Beaverdell

Lodging

Name Email Phone City
Ambleside at the Lake  holiday@amblesideatthelake.com 866-447-9334 Christina Lake
Beach Bungalow roughcut1998@msn.com 250-447-9030 Christina Lake
BedRock B and B bedrockbandb@gmail.com 250-442-3710 Grand Forks
Blue Mountain Lodge bluemountainlodge@hotmail.com 250-448-6238 Christina Lake
Christina Lakeside Resort  clresort@shaw.ca 250-447-9213 Christina Lake
Copper Mountain Ranch 250-449-2234 Midway
Cozy Cabin stephdasilva@shaw.ca 250-447-7602 Christina Lake
Evening Star Motel esmotel@hotmail.com 250-445-6733 Greenwood
Island Beach B and B info@island-beach.com 250-447-9379 Christina Lake
Lakeview Motel Christina Lake info@christinalakeviewmotel.ca  250-447-9358 Christina Lake
LaValley Beach B and B info@lavalleybeachbb.com 250-447-9764 Christina Lake
Motel 99 motel99reservations@hotmail.com 250-442-8501 Grand Forks
New Horizon Motel info@newhorizonmotel.com 250-447-9312 Christina Lake
Park Lane Resort and Motel info@parklane-resort.com 250-447-9385 Christina Lake
Pinegrove Motel pinegrove_motel@lycos.com 250-442-8203 Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks ramadagf1@hotmail.com 250-442-2127 Grand Forks
Schulli Resort 250-447-9269 Christina Lake
Silver Birch Resort silverbirchresort@shaw.ca 250-447-9467 Christina Lake
Sunflower Inn B and B info@sunflowerinnbb.com 250-447-6201 Christina Lake
Totem Motel and Resort totemmo@shaw.ca 888-447-9322 Christina Lake
Trapper’s Bungalow info@trappersbungalow.ca 250-447-9387 Christina Lake
Western Traveller Motel info@westerntraveller.ca Grand Forks

KVR Trail

The Kettle Valley (KVR) and Columbia-Western Rail Trail is the longest rail trail network in British Columbia extending from Hope to Castlegar.

Once a comprehensive railroad system, the decommissioned tracks are now home to an extensive recreational trail providing almost 650 km (400 mi) of connected pathways throughout the region.

Experiences on the trail can be self-guided or part of an organized tour, with sections ranging from family-friendly day-trips to overnight legs for experienced riders.

What to Expect

As the trail extends through a variety of towns, municipalities, and communities, conditions throughout can vary from ideal to challenging. Whether you’re considering a family-friendly day trip or an overnight bikepacking adventure, the best thing to do is to ensure you’re prepared for what you may encounter.

Here is an interactive map of the trail conditions and access points such as parking lots. Click on a section to find out what kind of trail surface you can expect, what kind of bike or ability you require, and whether or not the section is designated for non-motorized vehicles only.

Day Trips Along the KVR

Hiking or biking the Kettle Valley Rail Trail is a great way to travel through British Columbia’s wild spaces and the province’s history. You can experience the trail on your own or as part of an organized tour.

For those looking for a family-friendly day trip, here are five places you can experience the Kettle Valley Rail Trail.

Multi-Day Trips Along the KVR

Are you an experienced cyclist looking for a little more adventure? Escape the city with a multi-day bikepacking trip.

Check out this article by blogger Miles Arbour, featured on BIKEPACKING.com. He shares some and recommendations and helpful tips for those planning a longer journey.